SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Advice about Contract with Self-Published Author

Discussion started on

Illustrator
New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region southern-breeze
Hi Everyone!

I'm relatively new to the Children's book industry. I've illustrated two book over the past year with a self publisher. It went really well and the author was easy to work with. Recently, I've been receiving more and more inquiries to illustrate for other authors and have taken on a few books to illustrator over the next year. One author recently wanted me to illustrate two books for her back to back. I gave her a quote which she seemed to be fine with. I sent her an agreement to look over and she seems to have issues with me as the Illustrator having sole ownership of the artwork. I was told over and over and read many places to always own your artwork and never give the rights away. Just curious if I am understanding this fully.

This is what I have listed in the Artist & Author agreement:
1. Illustrator is sole owner of the artwork and retains the copyright and original artwork.
She asks "Why?" and says she wants us to co-own the artwork together. She says that story is key to making the illustrations happen and we should create these characters together.

Also, I have listed that I would like my name printed, a bio, website...etc in the back of the book. She says having my name printed on the front is fine but does not want any additional informational about me in the book. Just seemed a little strange to me especially since she was earlier talking about how we should "co-own" the artwork...etc.

Just getting a few red flags and wondering if this project would be beneficial for me. I don't really want to be committed to two books if the author is going to be difficult to work with throughout.

I would love everyone's advice before I email her back.

Thanks!!!

#1 - October 10, 2014, 06:39 AM

Illustrator
New Poster
  • SCBWI Member