SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

self-promo postcards

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadaeast
I just sent out a handful of postcards to test the waters.  I have a few left, a places to send them, but - if the publisher asks for samples and a C.V., would you package them together in an envelope?  I'm a newbie so I don't have much to put on my CV.  My postcard refers to my online portfolio. 
#1 - October 28, 2014, 09:26 AM
https://marlalesage.com/
Pirate, year round 2019 Acorn Press

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
yes.
#2 - October 28, 2014, 02:22 PM
patreon.com/wendymartin
Animal Totem Mandala 2016
The Story Circle 2016 (Piñata)
Color and Conjure 2017 (Llewellyn)

Writer/Illustrator
Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region nymetro
I would say yes as well. However, from my experience I haven't received a request for more samples since I have online portfolio links. I'm curious if anyone else has? I either hear nothing or get an email for a job. And speaking of promos,  I have a stack of postcards that need to go out as well. Good luck!
#3 - October 29, 2014, 09:14 AM
The Mermaid's Gift, Pelican, 2015
Cody and Grandpa's Christmas Tradition, Pelican 2016
Rest in Peace RaShawn, Creative Medicine, 2017

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
I got a request from an edu pub after a postcard mailing, that requested more samples and a CV. But that was the only one.
#4 - October 29, 2014, 11:19 AM
patreon.com/wendymartin
Animal Totem Mandala 2016
The Story Circle 2016 (Piñata)
Color and Conjure 2017 (Llewellyn)

Rock of The Westies
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region nevada