SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

How to word a query for Art Rep AND novel rep?

Discussion started on

I'm preparing to query as an illustrator (had queried as just an author before), but I want to mention I write YA and the occasional picture book. How do I go about crafting a query letter like that? I've seen countless query examples for authors or author/illustrators of PB (one project at a time). I haven't seen any examples of an illustrator looking for career rep from an agent who reps both (this would be a lit agent who reps illustrators). What would I include in a query for art rep, mentioning my writing? For example: "I'm an illustrator with an MFA in Illustration from the Savannah College of Art and Design. I have a delicate, dark fantasy ink style and also write atmospheric YA fantasy." I would have a link to my portfolio and offer to send writing samples if requested.

Thanks! I appreciate any advice or examples you can give me.
#1 - January 01, 2015, 06:47 PM

It's my understanding that most children's agents who represent picture books will represent both artists and writers, including YA. I believe it's generally considered best practice to query with one project (or, in your case, portfolio). You can mention that you do other things, but keep the focus on what you are leading with. I would also simply say "I also write YA fantasy", don't worry about a descriptive tag. I would only include the link to your portfolio and let them talk to you about the writing when they open up a conversation around representing your art. It's perfectly fair to ask an interested agent to take a look at your other work to make sure they are interested in representing everything you do.
#2 - January 01, 2015, 08:22 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region westcentny
What HDW said. Good luck!
#3 - January 02, 2015, 04:45 AM
BLACKOUT -- available now
DESERTED -- available now
SISTERS DON'T TELL -- available now
www.deenalipomi.com