SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Traditional vs. Digital Artists

Discussion started on

Where to begin on this topic! Maybe it has already been discussed. I am a self-taught artist using traditional forms of media. How do I stand out and stack up against those who can create work more quickly and most importantly EDIT their work quickly and cheaply using digital tools? Do you think people can tell the difference? What forms do you think editors...and readers prefer?
#1 - January 06, 2015, 06:06 PM

Children's Book Editor
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region nymetro
I don't think you need to be concerned, if your work measures up in terms of quality. It's not a "digital vs. traditional" situation at all, but more of a continuum, with respected, published, top-drawer illustrators working everywhere along it: some do their work entirely digital, some entirely traditional, but many are incorporating both digital and traditional methods into their work. In some areas, such as people working for mass market publishers or textbook publishers, you may find a predominance of digital, but in trade, you'll find the whole range.

It used to be fairly obvious when people worked digitally, but that's not true anymore, and in my experience, editors, art directors, librarians, teachers, and children don't care how the art was created. They just want good art.

So I wouldn't worry about not being digital. What you should focus on is continuing to develop your skills -- being self-taught, you do have a disadvantage against most (I would say all but there may be exceptions I don't know) illustrators in the children's book field, who have bachelor's or master's degrees in illustration. It's not that you need a degree as a piece of paper in order to get hired, but they benefited from the training they got while getting their degree. You might look into taking courses at a school like RISD or Pratt or CalArts, to help you level the playing field.