SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Computer Program for Formatting PBs?

Discussion started on

I'm just beginning to be brave enough to try my hand at writing picture books. (They're hard, you guys. I admire you picture book writers so much!) I'm having trouble visualizing page breaks and grasping the shape of a story as it would be laid out page by page. Is there a computer program/application (perhaps similar to Scrivener) that you use for writing picture books? I know illustrators create dummies for their picture books. Is there a program you use to create those that would work for someone who is just writing?

Thank you!
#1 - January 28, 2015, 07:43 PM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
I use Adobe Illustrator to lay out my pages. You can also use Adobe InDesign or Quark. For comics and GNs you can use Manga Studio.

Alternately, get a bunch of copy paper and make a book with it and write your story with page breaks that way. I still do this even though I own all the fancy computer programs. Nothing makes a story gel better than having it in your hands and turning actual pages.

One piece of copy paper folded in half = 4 book pages. A typical picture book has 32 pages plus cover (also four "pages" Front; Back; Inside Front; Inside Back.) Some of the 32 pages are reserved for things like title pages and copyright notices. Get a bunch of books published in the last 5 years to see how each one was handled and to see how the pages flow.

Even if you aren't planning on doing the art, the act of turning the pages will show you where your text is weak or needs editing.
#2 - January 29, 2015, 01:33 PM
patreon.com/wendymartin
Animal Totem Mandala 2016
The Story Circle 2016 (PiƱata)
Color and Conjure 2017 (Llewellyn)

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region epa