SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Got pictures! No words...

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadaeast
Hello!

I am an illustrator, and I was wondering whether anyone would be able to help me figure something out.

I have been wanting to do a picture book for a while now about my cats. Obviously I would like to illustrate the book myself, and I have a general story in mind. However, I will freely admit that I have no confidence in my own writing. I don't have any children and I'm not good with interacting with kids, so I keep thinking that there's no way I could possibly write a story that kids would like. I've seen self published books with nice pictures and just awful words, and I really don't want to end up making something like that.

I know that when writers pitch stories to publishers, they can do so without an illustrator, and the publisher actually prefers to find an illustrator for the story. But I don't know what happens if it's the other way; if I make nice pictures but the story stinks, will a publisher even look at it? Do publishers ever approve of a book based on the pictures and then find a writer? Or would I be better off finding a writer who I could work with to co-create something to pitch?
#1 - February 04, 2015, 01:30 PM
Charlene Chua, illustration | www.charlenechua.com
Twitter: @sygnin Behance: @charlenechua

Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newengland
Hi Charlene!

I'm not an illustrator (by any stretch of the imagination  :lol4 ), but I do write picture books and because of it, I usually think in pictures. I think your questions can be answered in a few ways: