SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

I Can't Draw the Book I Want to Write

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region michigan
Hi.

Here's my problem. I am a writer. I have a manuscript. It is 29 words long. The words are skeletal. The pictures are everything. And I know exactly what I want them to look like. I just cannot draw them. The second half of the book doesn't even have words, just pictures!  Stuck in my head!  I really believe in this manuscript and idea, and it's maddening that, barring a decade of art school (assuming I have talent, which I doubt), it cannot get made.

(I do not feel this way about my other manuscripts. I will submit to publishers whose illustrator's styles I like, but other than that, I'm fine with having no input.  I respect illustrators immensely and believe we should put our faith in their vision. This one is a unique problem.)   

Any thoughts/suggestions/help?

Thanks.

Brianna Zamoborsky
#1 - February 21, 2015, 01:31 PM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
Illustration notes. Say you want a girl floating over a bed of roses, write that and the feeling you want to evoke with the page.
#2 - February 21, 2015, 03:09 PM
patreon.com/wendymartin
Animal Totem Mandala 2016
The Story Circle 2016 (PiƱata)
Color and Conjure 2017 (Llewellyn)

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region sfnortheastbay
I once critiqued just such a book for a writer friend. Her illustration notes were, in fact, the manuscript. it was an idea plus a few words, and a lot of images.
 :clover
#3 - February 21, 2015, 03:41 PM
THE VOICE OF THUNDER, WiDo Publishing
THERE'S A TURKEY AT THE DOOR, Hometown520

www.mirkabreen.com
http://mirkabreen.BlogSpot.com

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region carolinas