SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Querying an Art Rep/Lit agent with a twist

Discussion started on

Illustrator & creative pixel manipulator
Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region canadaeast
I’m seeking out an art rep as a published children’s book illustrator, but here’s the dilemma; I am also an aspiring picture book writer.  How can I phrase my email query letter to let the agent know that I illustrate but am also looking for representation in my writing down the road?  And should I be even mentioning the writing at this point if I have no finished manuscripts that are ready for review?

I read though the great advice given on this board on a post from DLacy, which was very useful but my situation is slightly different.  I’ve heard time and time again that certain agents are very interested in author/illustrators.  I'd like to raise a flag to those types of agents to make them aware of all my capabilities up front.

Any thoughts?  Thanks in advance for any advice for this situation.
#1 - March 22, 2015, 12:40 PM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
I would work on putting together a dummy you both wrote and illustrated and then approach agents who rep author/illustrators. If you're querying, they'll want to see something before making a decision on whether they feel they can rep you effectively or not. When you have a dummy or two ready to go, then just say you are looking for representation as an author/illustrator and in the section where you include published past works mention the books you have illustrated.
#2 - March 22, 2015, 02:42 PM
patreon.com/wendymartin
Animal Totem Mandala 2016
The Story Circle 2016 (Piñata)
Color and Conjure 2017 (Llewellyn)

Dionna

Derek! YOUR WORK ROCKS MY SOCKS!!!

If you're open to illustrating someone else's work, I'd say query RIGHT now as an illustrator. You can still write your own text later.  Have you sent Lee & Low samples of your work? PLEASE do so, ASAP!!! Your Inuits are beautiful!!!