SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

First person for picture books?

Discussion started on

I am working on a couple of mss that I think are suitable to be picture books.  One is 650 words written with an omniscient narrator, interspersed with a bit of dialog from the 2 kids.   My other mss is 370 words, written in first person (narrator is a 5 y/o boy), with some dialog as he communicates with others.

My question is, is there a right/wrong?  Is one a more believable/usable vehicle than the other?  I think I'm ready for input on both of these, but maybe not quite ready for critique yet.   I'm a real newbie.    Would appreciate suggestions.
Thanks!
#1 - April 21, 2015, 01:09 PM

Creator of Mootastic Art and Children's Books
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region nymetro
Both POVs (point of views) that you are using work for picture books. There isn't a right/wrong. If it works for your story, then that's what you should use. I'd suggest reading as many current picture books (published within the last few years) as possible to see how others do it.
#2 - April 21, 2015, 02:29 PM
Site - http://sruble.com
Twitter - http://twitter.com/StephanieRuble

picture book: EWE AND AYE (now available as an ebook!)

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
Exactly what Stephanie said. But to take it a bit further, sometimes it's good to rewrite a few pages with a different POV, just to see how it works. You'll be amazed at how that can change a story, sometimes for the better! (But always save your original drafts.) Have fun and good luck! :cheesy
#3 - April 21, 2015, 06:19 PM
Freaky Funky Fish ( Running Press Kids, Spring 2021)