SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Publishers for Picture Book Biographies

Discussion started on

I'm new to this section of the boards, so let me start by introducing myself - my name is Leah Cypess, and I'm a YA writer who is working on branching out into picture books, primarily picture book biographies of historical Jewish figures (Dona Gracia Nasi, Ben Yehuda, Yehuda HaLevi, etc.) My agent does not really do picture books, but he is willing to do the legwork of submitting and (hopefully!) negotiating contracts, as long as I do the research about where to send. Our goal is to find a publisher who is a good enough fit that I would develop a good working relationship with them and stick with them for the majority of these books.

I've done research and compiled a long list of publishers that we could submit to. I'm thinking that smaller and indie presses with more of a school/library focus are probably our best bet -- Holiday House, Lee & Low, Chronicle, Charlesbridge, etc.

Since we're going to start with a handful on the first round, I was hoping some of you might share the benefit of your experience and let me know who you would consider the best publishers for this kind of project? Not that I am assuming any of them will want my books, of course, but if I have to choose a few for the first round, I might as well choose the ones I'm really hoping for!

Feel free to email me if you don't want to comment about specific publishers on the boards -- I'm at LCypess@gmail.com. Any input is EXTREMELY appreciated, since despite my research I do feel a bit lost in the dark. Thank you so much!
#1 - May 03, 2015, 06:10 AM
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 12:31 PM by Leah »

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region newjersey
I have a picture book biography, Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine, coming out this fall from Creston Books. They have been wonderful to work with and Marissa Moss is an amazing editor.
#2 - May 03, 2015, 08:15 AM