SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

YA Afrofuturism?

Discussion started on

I have been writing for many years. I always thought I wrote dystopian, so I stuffed my manuscript into a box. A box where I really didn't think it belonged all the way. I am 27 years old, and have just discovered a term called "Afrofuturism"...

I belong!

Has anyone heard of this term in YA? Or in anything for that matter? I did a little research and found that it was coined in the early 90's and is making a strong comeback in music and in the literary world.

I am interested to hear everyone's thoughts... And also, how hard do you think this will be to get published, since this isn't like a mainstream genre? 
#1 - May 04, 2015, 08:31 PM

It is not a genre I'm familiar with as a children's bookseller--we tend to use "broader strokes" when handselling books to kids. (Examples: "Do you like realistic stories or fantasy stories?" "Do you like adventure?" "Do you like romance?") The good news is that the YA genre has long been more flexible and experimental than adult genres. You can takes several different genres, shake and mix, and have a YA book that works just fine. Your book will sell if it's got a great story; the finer nuances of genre don't matter in YA.
#2 - May 04, 2015, 08:53 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region wwa
I've never heard the term, but Nancy Farmer's The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm would probably fit the category. Definitely worth a read.
#3 - May 05, 2015, 06:03 AM
Twitter: @MelissaKoosmann

I just Googled the term and it's a fascinating genre. Even before I read a little into it, I had the idea that groups like Parliament might be part of it.

I think a great story is a great story and a great story outside of the box makes it that much better. And, as HDWestlund points out, YA is particularly open to things that are different and interesting.
#4 - May 05, 2015, 06:08 AM
Young Henry and the Dragon (2011, Shenanigan Books)