Overwriting

Discussion started on

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region illinois
Hi,

I am new to writing picture books after years of writing adult fiction. While I'm keeping my word count to 400-600 words, I have received feedback from critiques that I have too much description. Has anyone else suffered from and overcame this issue? I can see it now in my manuscripts, but I am struggling with how to balance what to put in words vs what to leave for pictures. I would appreciate any insight.

Thank you!!
Lisa
#1 - July 19, 2015, 04:08 PM
Lisa Katzenberger
@FictionCity
www.lisakatzenberger.com

Children's writer
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region australiaeastnz
Hi Lisa,
A phrase you may have heard about this issue is "show, don't tell". I just googled "Picture Books - show don't tell" and a heap of interesting web sites showed up which dealt with this. It might be worth browsing these sites. One listed PBs that were great examples of show, don't tell - it would be useful to get a hold of a few of those books to get a sense of the kinds of things that are best left to the illustrations.
In a nutshell, to me the things best left out are visual descriptions such as "Her yellow dress" or "He said when he reached the door". However, if it's really important, there are always exceptions when a description should appear in the text. You must assess how important each description is on a case by case basis. Again, reading other PBs will help you get a sense for this.
That's just my opinion though!
Best of luck with your writing.
#2 - July 19, 2015, 06:49 PM
I've Got a Tail! - Amicus Ink 2020
Coming up: Millbrook Press & CSIRO Publications

www.juliemurphybooks.com

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region longislandny