SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Being Realistic about Rhyme

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region michigan
Hello!  I am new to pb writing, although I have been working on my ms for the last few years, on and off.  I am only interested in writing in rhyme, and have tried my best to avoid some of the major pitfalls of writing in rhyme.  Is there any chance that an editor would even look at the story, as I am an unpublished author?  I have no interest in writing the story in prose, and have not gotten to the point where I am ready to submit yet, although I feel like the story is close to complete.  I'm just curious what other people's perspective is on the chances of getting an honest look at it!

Thanks!
Colleen
#1 - September 24, 2015, 06:07 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region newengland
It's hard when you like to write in rhyme, but hear so many industry pros saying "don't". If you look at the shelves, you can see that plenty of rhyming stories get published every year, so they ARE saying 'yes' to somebody, and some of those books are by debut authors. It can happen, so don't give up hope!

Edited to add: You probably also need to recognize that you're making a difficult thing even harder because not only your story but your rhyme and meter have to be really really really really good. But it can be done!
#2 - September 24, 2015, 06:15 PM
« Last Edit: September 24, 2015, 06:17 PM by CarrieF »
www.carriefinison.com
DOZENS OF DOUGHNUTS - Putnam (July, 2020)
DON'T HUG DOUG (Spring, 2021)