Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region epa
Check out the ALA Youth Media award list:
http://ala.unikron.com/2016/

What are your thoughts on winners?

It's a great list and some really exciting choices. The most surprising is Matt de la Pena's Newbery win for the picture book Last Stop on Market Street (which also won a Coretta Scott King award and a Caldecott honor).

As a picture book author, I'm excited to have a picture book honored and hopeful that this will get more picture books into the hands of older readers.

As a middle grade author, I'm sorry that more of last year's brilliant novels couldn't be honored.

I think this really shows that the ALA Youth Media Awards needs to add the VERY overdue category of a picture book writing honor, as well as a graphic novel category (since very worthy graphic novels have gotten Newbery honors the past two years). I'd love to see separate Newbery categories for fiction and nonfiction as well.
Any thoughts out there?

#1 - January 11, 2016, 10:45 AM
Kell Andrews
www.kellandrews.com
Twitter @kellandrewsPA

THE BOOK DRAGON, Sterling, October 2, 2018
MIRA FORECASTS THE FUTURE, Sterling, 2016

You have some excellent points about the current gaps in the awards available. I've been confused for years about why there is no writing award for PBs. You are also right that graphic novels are now prevalent enough that they could be up for their own awards--but I do fear that separating them out will make the people who already dismiss them as "comic books" continue to dismiss them, instead of being forced to see the true literary value of they hold.
#2 - January 11, 2016, 11:39 AM

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic