SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

MG Novella?

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region losangeles
Hello,

I just finished a manuscript intended for 8-13 years old. I am concerned because the word count is only 18,300.  I really don't want to add more just for the sake of adding more words to qualify for the middle grade novel category.

Is there such a thing as a middle grade novella? And if so, is it tougher to sell?

#1 - April 16, 2016, 09:58 PM

Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newengland
Hi YB, :welcome to the boards!

Novellas in general are a tough sell and there isn't a MG novella category as far as I know. I have some personal experience with trying to sell shorter MG. I have a project that I first pitched as a MG serial (a throw back to Victorian-era serialization) and no takers. I was told by every agent I pitched that they couldn't sell a book in that age category under 25,000 (and even that's considered short these days). You might have the advantage of it being a stand-alone story, where mine is not, and you might get some interest based on concept/writing, but I'd be surprised if an agent didn't ask you to bulk up the word count.

Perhaps others have had more luck than I have though! :shrug

#2 - April 17, 2016, 06:13 AM
Top 50 finalist, The Launch Pad Manuscript Competition, https://www.tblaunchpad.com/contests/6

Tougher sell, yes. Impossible, no. Some excellent short novels would be SARA PLAIN AND TALL and STONE FOX. They are much older, but I have sold MG recently that has fewer than 20,000 words such as my GADGETS AND GEARS series. I recall Holly Black's SPIDERWICK series being 20,000 words per book...like a hundred thousand word book in five parts. The BUNNICULA series (which is old as well) are 16,000 to 20,000 words.

Depending on your theme, your book might be considered a 'chapter book' and sold that way. So...if it is right the way it is, keep it and write the next book.

:) EAB