SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Book Dummy if Self Published

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region brazosvalley
Do you need to do a book dummy if you've already got a self published book under your belt?

I did what you're probably not supposed to do, I worked for a self publishing author.  Now I realize I got amazingly lucky with a serious author who has done many books that sell well, and have won critical acclaim and awards for non fiction.  I didn't get rich, but the author paid enough to go back for a 2nd book and am working on a third.  I'm new to the children's market and hope this is a good start.

So in a few months, I'll have 3 20-26 page historical non-fiction books that will be all printed up add to a physical portfolio as well as images for my web site.  I did the illustrations, but not the layout.  Do I still need to make a book dummy?
#1 - June 22, 2016, 04:12 PM

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadawest
I'm not sure I understand what you're asking. A book dummy for what? To submit your own story as author/illustrator to a publisher?

Yes.

For a portfolio?

No.

I have four published books, and one coming out, and I still do book dummies. Even for my current editors. It's the best way to get your vision across.

For a portfolio, it's good to have 2-3 illustrations/spreads from the same project to show you can carry a narrative and have consistency with your characters. But don't put a full dummy in a portfolio.

ETA: Though if you have physical copies of your book and you are attending an in-person portfolio review/critique I would have a copy of the books on hand, and put 2-3 spreads in the physical portfolio and in your online portfolio.

I hope that helps!
#2 - June 22, 2016, 04:40 PM
« Last Edit: June 22, 2016, 04:43 PM by Artemesia »
THIS LITTLE PIGGY (AN OWNER'S MANUAL), Aladdin PIX June 2017 :pigsnort