SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Illustrating for Middle Grade

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region montana
Hello,

I'm still an aspiring illustrator. I've been working on my portfolio and trying to gear it towards picture books, but the more I look at picture books, I think that the work I like to do doesn't fit as well. So I'm wondering about Middle Grade. What does it take to illustrate for Middle Grade books? I know that most middle grade books consist of a cover and maybe some chapter illustrations, but how does one get into that world? How would you gear your portfolio? Is it in anyway similar to picture books? Does anyone have any resources/links I could go research?

Thanks!
#1 - August 04, 2016, 01:09 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region illinois
I'd suggest you check into magazines such as Cricket, Highlights, Pockets, Spider, etc. for the middle-grade audience. If you can make it into some of them, you can mention those assignments when trying to get a book editor or agent interested in your work. Magazines use color and each story usually has only two to five illustrations while interiors of books use black/ white and often one illustration for each chapter.  There does seem to be a trend toward middle-grade books that are illustrated, so this might be a perfect fit. Cover art is often done by a different artist than the interior art work and a lot of photos are incorporated into the illustrations. Checking out new books at bookstores and at your library is one of the best ways to learn about what's out there and what 's being done. Best wishes for success!!
#2 - August 04, 2016, 05:50 PM
Sheila Welch,  author/illustrator. Don't Call Me Marda, Waiting to Forget, Something in the Air, The Shadowed Unicorn, Little Prince Know-It-All

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas