SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Cricket and Highlights submission formats?

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region oregon
Hi,

First things first, I am a new writer on the block. I find SCBWI immensely helpful and with suggestions from experts here, I am working on submissions to magazines.

However, as a newbie (and specifically that I got too excited and acted dumb, as a result) I realized I totally messed up my submissions to Highlights and Babybug. I submitted an 8-line poem and I didn't put it in double-spaced with 1-inch margins format  :( To make things worse, the poem is in the center of the page not left-aligned  :gaah

When I was looking at guidelines on Humpty Dumpty website where they have mentioned manuscript formatting requirements, I went back to look at Highlights and Cricket websites and didn't find any there. Now, I am guessing this very reason is enough to reject my ms but I wanted to know if somebody had similar experience when they were starting out? And is there anything I can do now ?

I submitted the same ms to Babybug and Highlights (I did indicate that in my coverletter) and it has been ~1-2 weeks.

Thank you for reading my long post!
#1 - August 12, 2016, 12:36 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
:welcome Orchid.

I wouldn't worry about the formatting right now. Stellar writing trumps everything. I'm sure if an editor falls in love with your poem, he or she will take it to a meeting. I've not submitted anything to Highlights or the Cricket group in a while but I seem to remember that I'd hear something back within a month (for Highlights) or 3-6 mo for Cricket.

You might want to check response times thread or wait in the trenches with others for some support and commiseration.

Good luck, V.
#2 - August 12, 2016, 01:27 PM
BOUND (Bodach Books, 2018)
TEN EASTER EGGS (Scholastic, 2015)
www.vijayabodach.blogspot.com