SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Alluding to another work?

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
Hi all! Quick question...

The popular Skippyjon Jones book, "Cirque de Olé," opens with the following line: "Skippyjon Jones was a real High-Wire Henry."

This is (clearly!) an affectionate reference to the Henry books by Mary Calhoun, which were my absolute favorite picture books as a child. While I was delighted to see the reference (especially as these books are now out of print), it confused me that there doesn't seem to be any credit given to Ms. Calhoun anywhere in the dedication or in an afterword. Additionally, it seems that the opening line will confuse to readers unfamiliar with Henry the (other) Siamese cat, and that it's an odd, somewhat-obscure reference to use as a "hook" for a story.

I am curious, as an aspiring PB author myself, about the rules of citing another work so obviously, and when and how one might include a citation or credit. "Cirque de Olé" is obviously just a play on "Cirque du Soleil," but "High-Wire Henry" is the ACTUAL title of another book - and I would have guessed that you'd need to cite that somewhere. And - is it common for a PB to cite another work? For example, I can't imagine picking up a PB and seeing the first line, "Little Lashonda was quite the Hermione Granger." Can anyone comment on this? Quite curious.

TL;DR - Thoughts on including actual pop-culture references in one's own fictional work, and how to include proper credit when appropriate?
#1 - October 03, 2016, 11:59 AM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region oregon