SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

When to query Highlights?

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region oregon
I have a poem submission to Highlights and it has been over 3 months now and status shows "In Progress" on Submittable. Since this is my first time submitting something to the magazine world, I am not sure how long should I wait before status query? And even if I do SQ, not sure who to send to? There are no email addresses mentioned on the Highlights submissions page? Does anyone here have experience in SQing through Submittable?
#1 - November 07, 2016, 12:49 PM

I don't think you can sq through submittable.

I believe they're just running late. I've had a poem "in-progress" with them for almost 5 months.

In any case, I probably wouldn't try to sq till after 6 months.
#2 - November 07, 2016, 12:54 PM
NED THE KNITTING PIRATE, GRIMELDA series,
CITY SHAPES, DORIS THE BOOKASAURUS, ONE SNOWY DAY, PIZZA PIG, and more...
http://www.dianamurray.com

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region florida
I also have fiction with them ('in progress' for almost 3 months). So I'm waiting too, though I think now poetry and fiction go through different editors? The nice thing about Submittable is that we always know the status of our submissions. With snail mail, I always worried that maybe something got lost in the mail. Of course, frequent refreshing of Submittable is another problem. :)

Good luck to both of you!
#3 - November 07, 2016, 01:02 PM
Anita N. Amin

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region oregon
Thanks Starfish and Diana. Looks like there is more wait time ahead of me, sigh

I thought I had patience but it is oh, so hard to keep looking at the status on Submittable! And yes, I keep refreshing my email as well :)

Good luck to both of you as well.
#4 - November 07, 2016, 01:07 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midsouth