SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

How to query

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region ohiocensouth
Hello all!  :new  I’m just starting out with submitting to children’s magazines, and I was hoping you could help me understand how a magazine query works.  I haven’t been able to find anything on the board about this previously, but please let me know if I’ve overlooked a post or a reference!

I have so many questions…  It seems standard for a magazine to ask for a cover letter, an outline (including scope and treatment for non-fiction), and a writing sample.  But, I can’t seem to find guidelines beyond that.

Is there a general advice on how detailed the outline should be?  Is paragraph-by-paragraph good?  Not enough?  I want to give a full understanding of my idea, but I don’t want to overwhelm anyone, either. 

Should it include anticipated references (is that the "treatment" aspect)? 

Should an opening paragraph always be included? 

Thanks in advance for all your help!

#1 - November 18, 2016, 05:54 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region westcentny
Hi Becca -- I'm sure someone with more magazine pub experience will help you out, but in general, follow the submission guidelines for each publisher. Some may want an outline and query, others may just want you to send the completed article. Ev Christensen keeps up a great website with links to loads of kidlit mag submission guidelines: http://evelynchristensen.com/mags.html

Good luck!
#2 - November 18, 2016, 06:10 PM
BLACKOUT -- available now
DESERTED -- available now
SISTERS DON'T TELL -- available now
www.deenalipomi.com

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region minnesota
Hi Becca,