SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

How to start my on picture book?

Discussion started on

I am new to this message board. I was referred by a friend. I am so interested in starting my own picture book or children's book. I just don't know where to start. I sit here and I just draw a blank. What can I do to start generating some ideas? What is the process of writing a picture book? Any advice is much appreciated!
#1 - December 26, 2016, 07:11 PM
Alexandra G. Kirkman

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region socal
Hi Agkirkman. Welcome to the boards, and congratulations on deciding to learn to write PBs. It's not an easy task, as you have already found out. It would probably be a good idea to order one or two How-to books online, or look for them in the library. It's also a good idea to go to the library and just read as many PBs as you can. Then go back and read some more. I agree that coming up with ideas can be hard, but they'll come.

Good luck.  :star2
#2 - December 26, 2016, 08:12 PM

Thank you and I will consider that. I appreciate the advice! :like
#3 - December 26, 2016, 08:15 PM
Alexandra G. Kirkman

Administrator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region florida
Welcome to the boards! :welcome

Pons gave you some great advice. I tend to request close to 50 PBs at a time from my library (it's great to ask a librarian in person--but a lot of the time I hear about great picture books here and other places online and add them to my library list). Try to concentrate on books that were published in the past few years, because those will reflect the current market. Current books (especially fiction PB) typically have sparse words (many of them are under 500 words).