SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Third person multiple POV for chapter book and a few other questions

Discussion started on

Hello my name is Laura and I am a PhD student who is working on a chapter book for a bibliotherapy project as part of my dissertation. The story is about the friendship between a child on the autism spectrum and a child newly adopted from Haiti their adaption to the "culture" of their country and school. The story is entitled "You Can't Do That in Canada" and also looks at autism as a culture of its own. Since one of the learning objectives of the novel is to teach my readers the perspectives of the two characters, I have considered alternating pov in chapters between my two main characters. It is less of a commercial book and more one designed for a classroom intervention in local schools although I do have a proposal under consideration with Jessica Kingsley which deals with therapy books of this sort. I have been attempting to write fiction for years but this is my first project I extensively researched, interviewed families, and spent two years preparing even before I got into writing it.
In addition, I am wondering about reading level for an intervention that is intended to be read aloud to students by teachers and will eventually include discussion questions. I know most of the posters on this board are commercial writers or aiming to be but am curious if anybody has any input for me for this project. I so far have a large research proposal for it and an 11,000 word draft with chapters with specific learning objectives based on the children's friendship training program at UCLA in addition to suggestions from families I interviewed.
#1 - January 07, 2017, 03:39 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region westcentny