SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Best fairytales/short stories that can be freely illustrated and then sold?

Discussion started on

I have heard that after a certain amount of time, a story becomes a part of the public domain, so that I can have creative liberty to use the content for my own purposes. At this stage, I am interested in illustrating children's novels, and to develop my ability as an illustrator, I was interested in starting with a short story that has already been made, as apposed to one which I must write first.
If however, I illustrate a story and my illustration is done in an excellent way, I would love to be able to sell it. What are my options as far as selling, and what would be a list of stories in which this could be done? Thank you for your help!
#1 - January 14, 2017, 10:18 PM

Check out this list https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fairy_tales

Thanks Alan, this is very helpful. Will everyone of these be potentially something that I could make a profit from? When I am starting out, is it wrong to think in those terms? You responded to another post I had made in another part of this website, and so you know I am just beginning this endeavor of writing children's novels, but I still think monetarily, and would like to know whether I can make a profit in some way. Thanks for your help!
#3 - January 15, 2017, 12:12 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
Welcome to the boards Overground55!