SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Correct presentation of a dummy

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region australiaeastnz
I'm sorry if this seems like a very ignorant question, but I'm new to all this.

I'm currently putting together my application for 'Writing With The Stars' and as I'm submitting a MS that I have written and illustrated, I'm planning on submitting a dummy (I'm not sure if this is the correct terminology as the illustrations are all complete, it's not a WIP).

What I'm unsure about is how I present the text and illustrations. Do I insert the entire MS as one block of text with the illustrations below? Or should I match the text with the corresponding illustrations? If I'm matching the text and illustrations then should the text be over the illustrations or sitting separately. Is this just a matter of preference or is there an industry standard?

Thanks in advance for your help.
#1 - January 10, 2017, 03:22 AM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
A dummy is a mock up of the book. Generally, a book dummy contains mostly tight pencil sketches of the pages with the text in place as you envision the story. Included in these pencil sketches are two to three finished pieces of art. The final product can be an actual physical booklet mock-up or a pdf. I also include a separate file of the manuscript only. I have sent both types of submissions to agents and publishers, but in recent years, most submission guidelines ask for electronic files. Many places want you to query before submitting a dummy. Read each places' individual guidelines to know what they want.

FWIW: Submitting a dummy with completed art all the way through can be detrimental as the editors and art directors will have changes to suggest. I have yet to create a book where there weren't revisions to either the text or the art or both.
#2 - January 10, 2017, 07:52 AM
patreon.com/wendymartin
Animal Totem Mandala 2016
The Story Circle 2016 (PiƱata)