SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Which is more marketable: illustrating your own story or a classic?

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region brazosvalley
Hi All,

I'm a relatively new member of the SCBWI and this is my first time posting on the blueboard, so please pardon me if this kind of question has already been answered--I don't quite know what I'm doing yet!

I have a question regarding how to choose a project to illustrate so that the final book proposal will be attractive to publishers. I recently graduated art school and am nearing the end of the illustrations for my first picture book project, after which I hope to find a publisher. This project has taken years of work and is teaching me how much effort is required for even one book, so I want to be thoughtful about what I decide to tackle next. For my next project, I'm currently debating between illustrating a fairy tale I wrote, and illustrating the children's classic "The Arabian Nights." (A little background: although I consider myself an artist first and foremost, I have studied fairy tale structure and mythological storytelling, and I like the idea of being able to generate my own material to illustrate. Plus, it would appear to be financially beneficial too.)

My question is: As someone who hasn't been published yet, which of the two would give me the best shot at getting a publisher on-board---- a picture book I both wrote and illustrated, or a classic that's in the public domain? (I've seen some stuff on agency websites lately talking about the need for people who both write and illustrate, so I thought that might give me an advantage, but I wasn't sure.)

Anyway, I would greatly appreciate opinions on this! Thanks for your time, guys.
#1 - January 30, 2017, 08:58 AM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region ksmo
Hi Brenna,

Welcome!

I guess I would ask first if you're looking for an agent or a publisher, since you mentioned both.