SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

PB Manuscript Questions

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region indiana
Hello! I am an aspiring PB author and am new to the site. I am getting close to submitting my PB ms to an agent and have 2 questions for anyone who can help. Thanks in advance!

1. Most agencies ask for ms submissions to be double spaced; however, my PB is written in rhyming couplets and it would be really hard to read if it was evenly spaced. Currently it's spaced as follows:

Here's line one; it rhymes so well
But will they like it? Time will tell.

I want an agent; that I do.
But if I err, they'll tell me "Shoo!"

Is this acceptable, given the rhyming aspect of the PB? Or should I submit it double-spaced as requested?

2. My PB is interactive: there are tabs to pull. Most agents ask that submissions not have page breaks. However, are instructions such as "The following text begins on a page with a green tab" acceptable?

Thanks again! Have a wonderful day!'

Juliana

:help2 :new
#1 - February 25, 2017, 12:45 PM
« Last Edit: February 25, 2017, 02:13 PM by JSC »

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region newengland
Hi Juliana,

Double-spaced text is easier on the eyes and much easier to edit. It is the rule in the publishing industry and I can't think of any exceptions other than block quotations. I'm not sure I understand why you think it would make couplets more difficult to read.

I don't know about tabs, so I'll let someone else answer your second question.

Good luck!
#2 - February 25, 2017, 09:09 PM
« Last Edit: February 25, 2017, 09:38 PM by Michael Sussman »
DUCKWORTH: THE DIFFICULT CHILD (Atheneum, 2019)
INCOGNOLIO (Janx Press, 2017)
CRASHING EDEN  (Solstice, 2012)
OTTO GROWS DOWN (Sterling, 2009)

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region indiana
Hi Michael,