SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

How to judge writing retreats

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region minnesota
Hello all! My name is Dave Daily and I'm relatively new to SCBWI. I attend the MN chapter critique groups. I do have one specific question and this may be covered in another thread, so if so please let me know! I'd like to attend a retreat, but there are so many, I'm wondering which you have found most valuable? I've looked at the Highlights Foundation and love their descriptions, but I haven't spoken with anyone who has attended. In other words, my question is...if I'm going to spend $1,000-$1,500 on a retreat or conference, what would you recommend? :) Thanks!
#1 - May 05, 2017, 09:54 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
:welcome David. Writing retreats are wonderful. If you have the $$$ to splurge on the Highlights Foundation ones, you wouldn't go wrong. I've attended two, a very general one over 10 yrs ago when it was at Chautauqua and more recently at Boyds Mills, a focused one on religious writing. I rec'd scholarships for both but getting there was still expense. You can read about them: http://vijayabodach.blogspot.com/search/label/Highlights  scroll down to get past the interview.