SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Critiques

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadaeast
I'm working on my first novel & am wondering what you usually do re: critiques. (I'm a picture book writer used to swapping whole texts).

Should I start with just a look at the first chapter/s? or is it ok to ask for a look at the whole text?

Why types of critiques do you seek & why?

Thanks!
#1 - May 22, 2017, 07:23 AM

Administrator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region florida
Congrats for writing your first novel! I started with picture books, too, and  still love working on them.

My favorite way to have novels critiqued is to run them through both online and in person groups, chunks at a time. This way, if I have something major to fix, I can work it through the whole manuscript before they see future pieces of it. Online groups vary--I'm in one now that critiques up to 4200 words twice a month. I've been in others that allowed 15 or 20 pages twice a month.

After they've been run through and revised as well as I can get them, I love sending the full manuscript to crit buddies. I also love getting paid critiques at conferences once the beginnings have been revised quite a bit and are in good shape. I've also had full paid critiques, which are extremely helpful.

I wrote most of my novels during NaNoWriMo, so I've had the whole story written before starting to send chunks through my groups. Of course it all needs tons of revisions first, but I find it easier to have the extremely rough draft in place before getting critiques. I feel like I can't really get a good grasp on the beginning until I've reached the end. Plus, I get to know the characters so much better as the first draft continues. The stronger I can make my manuscripts before sending them to my groups, the deeper they're able to dig in their feedback.
#2 - May 22, 2017, 10:14 AM

Administrator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member