SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

No SASE, should I expect an email from Humpty Dumpty?

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region oregon
Hi,

I just realized that I didn't include a SASE with my snail-mail submission to Humpty Dumpty. Their instructions do specify including a SASE, I guess I just missed reading that part! I haven't heard back from them yet but it has only been 2 months since I sent out my submission.  I am wondering if they will respond at all if it is a reject? Do they send out a form R by email if there is no SASE? This is my first time submitting to Humpty Dumpty, so I don't know what their process is. Any insights will be helpful!

Thanks.
#1 - August 15, 2017, 09:47 AM

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region florida
If you don't hear back in a couple of months, you could try sending a status query with the SASE. I don't know about rejections, but my acceptances have all come by email. They do tend to hold onto pieces they like for a long time if they don't have a fit in an upcoming issue (since they only have 6 issues a year). I've waited up to a year to hear back and typically status query after  6-8 months. I'm currently waiting on 2 pieces from January. The editor is wonderful and the wait is worth it though! Crossing my fingers for both of us! Good luck!
#2 - August 15, 2017, 10:21 AM
Anita N. Amin

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region oregon
Thanks for your reply, Starfish. I will wait couple of more months before I get in touch with them. Hopefully, they don't send me a reject until then :) Good luck!
#3 - August 15, 2017, 02:26 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region oregon
Hi Starfish,

I'm curious if you heard back on your submission?