SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Newbie contract dilemma

Discussion started on

Hi,

I'm new to Illustrating, I've always made art but my sister linked me up with a friend who is self publishing a three book children's picture book series. A whole world has opened up that I'm enjoying exploring. I'm also really grateful to find this forum and am hoping for insight regarding contracts and sales tax.

Being new to the business I agreed on $100 per illustration + royalties and it was insinuated that she would keep the illustrations at the end. I got started on the drafts and then learned I keep copyrights unless I sign them over. Which I hadn't, so I went to the publisher/author and proposed a licensing of rights and a licensing of electronic rights contract. We're negotiating the details of those but I'm confused about how to go about the gifting of the final images. She is new to the business as well. I've already said she could keep the final illustrations, and based on the contract we're negotiating right now the $100/illustration is what she is paying as an advance for the rights.

I based my contracts off of the ones in Business and Legal Forms for Illustrators by Tad Crawford. I'm stuck at the Loss, Theft, or Damage section. This section would normally say when and how the artwork will get back to the illustrator, or how much the client is buying them for. Does anyone have any suggestions for what to write if the client is not buying them, nor returning them?

I've also drafted up a deed of gift and agreement to show I'm gifting the artwork with a clause about how I get to be involved if she decides to sell them, that she is aware she doesn't get the copyrights and she will offer the artwork back to me before purposefully destroying it.

I'm confused regarding sales tax here in Texas, I imagine it to be different everywhere, but I'm curious at what point do illustrators typically apply for sales tax permits?