SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Tweeting to non-followers

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region nymetro
I’m pretty new to twitter, and am wondering about “twitter etiquette “. I have an illustration show up, and wondered if it is okay to tell art directors who don’t follow me. If I tweet to them, will they see the message? And is it considered rude or intrusive, or is I okay to tweet for self-promotion? I’m pre-published and thrilled to be having a show in a great location (NYPL), but don’t know how to get the word out. Thanks,
Roxana
www.roxylh.com
#1 - January 26, 2018, 07:04 AM

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
While I am not an illustrator, so I can't really speak to that, you don't want to spam or pitch on twitter (pitches are okay during pitch events, but those are to whatever the hashtag is, not directly to an agent/editor/art director). However you can ask your followers to retweet to help you spread the news. Even if the art directors don't follow you yet, they may follow your followers.

Twitter is organic and takes time for the seeds of contact and community to grow.  You can reach out to agents and art directors when they have #AskAgent sessions and the like.

Good luck with your show and with getting some attention on twitter!
#2 - January 26, 2018, 07:15 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region ksmo
Yes to what June said. Don't directly @ people to promote. But you can @ the venue and add hashtags to your post that will get it more exposure. For example, at the end of your tweet about your exhibit, you could add @nypl and hashtags describing your style of art and the event (I know nothing about illustration, but examples might be #ModernArt #WaterColor #ArtShow etc.)
#3 - January 26, 2018, 07:36 AM

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region nymetro