SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Show vs. Tell

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region nymetro
Many PB uses metaphors to "show". While some do straightforward  "tell". It is something I am always very careful about.

One of the books I read recently is "Life " by Cynthia Rylant. The book is mostly telling children about life, except one metaphor of elephant. As an adult, I love this book, for how honest yet positive it is when talking about life. While as a writer, I cannot help think if children would be able to understand.

On Goodreads, one reviewer commented  "I feel like adults rave about, but kids go “meh.”  I personally think it is because this book has a very large portion of "telling" instead of "showing", and would like to hear more opinions from fellow writers.

Thank you !

#1 - October 25, 2017, 11:19 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
I have not read this book, Hui Li, but I will look it up because I enjoy Rylant's books. My kids too, when they were little. She's got a very poetic quality to her writing and though she "tells" a lot, she is also very specific in what she uses as an example. Illustrations help.

#2 - October 25, 2017, 11:44 AM
TEN EASTER EGGS (Cartwheel/Scholastic, 2015)
www.vijayabodach.blogspot.com
Author of over 40 books and 60 magazine pieces

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
While I haven't read this particular story I think there are many books that break the show-don't-tell rule and still work.
Dr. Suess was very tell-y. For example Oh, The Places You'll Go or the Lorax are both stating things clearly, but it works for the story and art (old examples, I know). Show isn't always about metaphors but rather about action. Don't say "they were nervous", say" they chewed their fingernails to nubs." But there are times were telling works.