SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

A friend of mine wants to hire me to illustrate his children's book (questions)

Discussion started on

First off, I'm new here and did try browsing around for some questions regarding my situation. I did find this thread useful: https://www.scbwi.org/boards/index.php?topic=65291.0

I'll try to keep it short, but I mainly got into art to work on my own online graphic novel (eventually will go to print). I've been doing it for a few years now, and has attracted some attention from people I know, who are now considering to hire me. I've never been published (yet), so in the publishing and business logistics arena, I'm quite novice.

A friend of mine is writing a children's book, currently going through drafts and editing. I've read it too. It's around 8 chapters (roughly 6000 words). He's also been published and paid on a few blogs in the past.  We discussed many things about the book, what the work would entail, etc. He DOES plan to pay me, but we haven't discussed the budget yet. This will be all out of his own pocket.

Here are my questions, and findings:

• He's looking for roughly 2 small illustrations a chapter, black and white, with one full color cover. 14-16 illustrations.
  • I do not have an agent and am completely independent right now.
  • Do I need an agent to do this properly? If so, recommendations on how to get started?
  • He also mentioned that he may need a literary agent himself. If only one of us had an agent, would this project be troublesome to have us work together?
  • He aspires to have this book in book fairs / elementary schools, etc
  • He's still considering pre-approaching a publisher with the work and was wanting me to make the full color cover page to help "sell it" to them if possible. I suggested it may be better to make sure his script is fully edited and "locked" before I start any work, avoiding massive revisions.