SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Good idea?

Discussion started on

This may seem like a silly question. How do you know if you have a good idea for a children's book? I think I am doing this backwards. I have a character (I'm an artist) and wanted the character to be in a story.  The stories come really easy to me.  My goal is to have 3 basic stories written by March. Arbitrary, I know. I have 2 written and am working on the third. The third is my favorite. I can't tell if its a great idea or just about the stupidest thing! Who do you run your ideas by?  Mind you, I am just learning all this. I won't illustrate all 3 stories, and probably won't submit all three, but I'm curious how one knows if they have a decent story.
#1 - January 13, 2019, 11:20 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region westcentny
Hi Lisa,

Read a ton of books that are "similar" to yours in tone and style.  Then read yours aloud and see how it stacks up.

Also, find some critique partners to swap manuscripts with! You will learn both from critiquing others' work and from what advice they have for your work.

Good luck! And keep writing! You learn from each manuscript you write.
#2 - January 13, 2019, 12:15 PM
BLACKOUT -- available now
DESERTED -- available now
SISTERS DON'T TELL -- available now
www.deenalipomi.com

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
Lisa, a lot of times I don't know if an idea is good until I actually work on it. Execution is everything. I have lots of stories that I've developed and abandoned because they didn't feel very special after all. And there are stories that I've worked and worked at and will not let go of me. And some of them have sold eventually.

Dinalapomy's advice is excellent. A critique group or a trusted reader is invaluable. Happy :writing3 and :paint
#3 - January 13, 2019, 06:38 PM
BOUND (Bodach Books, 2018)
TEN EASTER EGGS (Scholastic, 2015)
www.vijayabodach.blogspot.com