SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Question re PBs and "sidebars"

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region rmc
Hi all,

I'm a new author with professional experience in the mental health profession.  I've been writing a PB for very young children, their siblings, and parents about a specific medical issue (a non-fiction, informative book).  As I write, the more it's clear to me the book has a dual focus: 1-simple education for children about the medical issue and 2- recognition and support for parents dealing with this medical issue.  My overarching question is this: How do I effectively portray the 2 different foci in the bookWhen the info is directed at parents, not children, should it be considered a "sidebar?"  In my manuscript thus far, the audience/point-of-view alternates regularly between child-focused info and parent-info, so I'm not quite sure how to delineate this in the manuscript.  Has anyone seen this type of dual focus before? I realize I'm stretching the typical bounds of a PB here...
Thanks in advance for your guidance and suggestions!  This is an amazing group of people to be in touch with as I proceed down this winding, unfamiliar path! :bewildered
#1 - February 04, 2019, 09:09 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region socal
I think you need to decide who your primary target audience is. If it is the child, then write the story for the child. Because you have so much information that would be valuable for the adult - which would also benefit the child - find a way to incorporate it that doesn't intrude on the child's story. Sidebars are an option, and I often like them, but in this case with very young children, you might want to opt for a glossary or information page at the back of the book. I'm not sure if your story will be fiction or nonfiction, but I find sidebars in fiction annoying. That could very possibly just be me.  :star2
#2 - February 04, 2019, 09:57 AM

Global Moderator