SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

? regarding determining reading age

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region ksmo
Hi,

I'm new to SCBWI and am not yet published. While I have written several different books in a few categories, I am currently working on one that I feel is close to being ready to submission but I'm a bit torn on what exact age group I should specify. While I feel it would be best for somewhere between a 6 to 10 year old, there is also a large gap developmentally and the verbiage is more mature than a 6 year old would read by him/her self. That said, most books are around 1600 words so not long enough for chapter books for a 10 year old. Any suggestions? Do I add more content? Or cut the content down a bit and tone down the verbiage for younger readers? Just curious if others have approached this situation and how you handled it. Thanks!
Erin
#1 - August 04, 2019, 07:56 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region canadaeast
Hi Erin

Chapter books (ages 6-9) are usually 4000 (Daisy Meadows) to 10,000 words (Magic Tree House).

Have you compared your stories to books currently on the market? With chapters lacking in number or length, you may discover you are rushing the text a little - i.e. missing senses, skipping descriptions, characters too generic, etc.

But if the concepts and words are geared to the nine or ten-year-old, is it possible you have a collection of short stories and not number of books (like And Then It Happened)?

It's difficult to make suggestions without more insight.
#2 - August 04, 2019, 09:12 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region westcentny
What David said and also have you run this manuscript by a critique partner or group to get their opinion? I would do that, too!
#3 - August 05, 2019, 04:22 AM
BLACKOUT -- available now
DESERTED -- available now
SISTERS DON'T TELL -- available now
www.deenalipomi.com

Global Moderator
Poster Plus