SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Brand Partnerships & Picture Books

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newjersey
Hi all! I'm an agented unpublished PB author. I've had 2 books make it to acquisition, but no deals unfortunately.  As of now, i don't have an interest in self-publishing, but I am trying to think of other creative ways to get published. Which brings me to this...

I have a PB manuscript i've written that was inspired by a non-profit that is sponsored by a pretty famous brand. (My agent is not currently subbing it.) I am considering reaching out to the brand to see if they'd be interested in partnering to publish the book. I figure the story would help promote their non-profit and the brand's name would build interest in the book. But i'm unsure how to approach it. Anyone have any experience with something like this?

-Should I try and get the brand interested and then use that interest to leverage a deal with a publisher? (Through my agent.)

-Would it be better to "self-publish" the story with financial/marketing backing from the brand?

-Is this idea even feasible?

Thanks!
Mike
#1 - August 23, 2020, 06:36 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
Hi Mike,

Is there a reason your agent is not interested in subbing this specific PB? Does he/she feel it's too niche? Or that it's "not ready"? The reason I ask is that most agented authors don't sub on their own. . .
#2 - August 23, 2020, 08:26 AM
Freaky Funky Fish ( Running Press Kids, Spring 2021)
Tell Someone (Albert Whitman, Fall 2021)

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newjersey
Good question. It's not that my agent isn't interested.  She's considering this MS, along with 4 others, for the next story we go out on sub with. We currently have 2 on sub. (One on sub 2+ years, one on sub for 6ish months.) But like I said, a lot of bites, but no offers yet.