SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

SCHEDULE
#scbwiWinter22

 

Schedule

Pre-Conference Events, All Live on Zoom:

Tuesday, February 8, 2022

5:00 pm-6:00 pm Pacific/8:00 pm-9:00 pm Eastern

LGBTQIA2+ Social

Wednesday, February 9, 2022

4:00 pm-5:30 pm Pacific/7:00 pm-8:30 pm Eastern

Peer Critiques (advance registration required)

Thursday, February 10, 2022

9:45 am-10:45 am Pacific /12:45 pm-1:45 pm Eastern

Spanish Language Social (open to the public)

Friday, February 11, 2022

11:30 am-12:30 pm Pacific / 2:30 pm-3:30 pm Eastern

Translators Social with Laura Watkinson

1 pm-2 pm Pacific/4-5 pm Eastern

Orientation for Newcomers with Jolie Stekly

Free and Open to the Public!

2:30 pm-3:15 pm Pacific/5:30 pm-6:15 pm Eastern

Everything Changes, Nothing Ends:
Telling Stories with Brian Selznick

Free and Open to the Public!

 

Main Conference Schedule:

Saturday, February 12, 2022

8:15 am-8:30am Pacific/11:15 am-11:30 am Eastern

Welcome and Introduction

Sarah Baker

8:30 am-9 am Pacific/ 11:30 am-12 pm Eastern

Keynote: Stephanie Garber

9:15 am-10:30 am Pacific/12:15 pm-1:30 pm Eastern

Recipe for Success in 2022 from an Editor’s Point of View

  • Michelle Frey, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Farrin Jacobs, Little Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Denene Millner, Denene Millner Books/Simon and Schuster
  • Cynthia Leitich Smith, Heartdrum/HarperCollins
  • Emma Ledbetter, Abrams Books for Young Readers

10:45 am-11:15 am Pacific/1:45 pm-2:15 pm Eastern

Keynote: Kelly Yang

11:30 am-12:45 pm Pacific/2:30 pm-3:45 pm Eastern

Recipe for Success in 2022 from an Art Director’s Point of View

  • Erica De Chavez, HarperCollins
  • Maria Elias, Penguin Random House
  • Kristen Nobles, Charlesbridge
  • Lesley Worrell, Tor/Forge Books
  • Cecilia Yung, Penguin Books For Young Readers

1 pm-1:30 pm Pacific/4 pm-4:30 pm Eastern

Keynote: Paula Yoo

2 pm-3:15 pm Pacific/5 pm-6:15 pm Eastern

Recipe for Success in 2022 from an Agent’s Point of View

  • Chad Beckerman, The CAT Agency
  • Jemiscoe Chambers-Black, Andrea Brown Literary Agency
  • Samantha Fabien, Root Literary Agency
  • Thao Le, Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency
  • James McGowan, BookEnds Literary Agency

3:30 pm-4 pm Pacific/6:30 pm-7 pm Eastern

Keynote: Vanessa Brantley-Newton

4:30 pm-5:30 pm Pacific/7:30 pm-8:30 pm Eastern

Q&A With SCBWI Illustrator Committee

 

Sunday, February 13, 2022

Up Close with Publishing Professionals

* Not included in the main conference fee

* Limited Spots Available

Those who register for this additional half-day will choose ONE faculty-led breakout for each time slot. For more information on the faculty and content of these sessions, CLICK HERE.

Session One:

9 am-10 am Pacific/12 pm-1 pm Eastern

Choose one of the following agent or editor-led sessions to attend:

  • Foyinsi Adegbonmire – Associate Editor, Feiwel & Friends
  • John Cusick – Agent, Folio Literary Management
  • Alyza Liu – Associate Editor, Simon & Schuster
  • Janna Morishima – Agent, New Leaf Literary
  • Jas Perry – Agent, KT Literary Agency
  • Jennifer Rofé – Senior Agent, Andrea Brown Literary Agency
  • Alison Weiss – Editor, Pixel & Ink
  • Andrea Welch – Executive Editor, Beach Lane Books
  • Jazmia Young – Associate Agent, Curtis Brown Literary

Session Two:

11 am-12 pm Pacific/2 pm-3 pm Eastern

Choose one of the following faculty sessions to attend:

  • Kat Brzozwoski – Senior Editor Feiwel & Friends
  • Kayla Cichello – Agent, Upstart Crow Literary
  • Trisha de Guzman – Editor, Ferrar, Strauss & Giroux
  • Karly Dizon – Associate Agent, Fuse Literary
  • Meghan McCullough – Associate Editor, Levine Querido
  • Alexandra Penfold – Agent, Upstart Crow
  • Jennifer Rofé – Senior Agent, Andrea Brown Literary
  • Laurel Symonds – Agent, The Bent Agency
  • Andrea Welch – Executive Editor, Beach Lane Books

12:30 pm – 4:30 pm Pacific/ 3:30 pm – 7:30 pm Eastern

Illustrator Sessions

 

Location, Location, Location!

Give your settings the attention they deserve. Building a believable world that amplifies the story arc and reflects your characters’ physical and emotional journey.

12:30 – 12:45 pm Pacific / 3:30 – 3:45 pm Eastern

Introduction: Laurent Linn and Cecilia Yung

12:45 – 1:35 pm Pacific / 3:45 – 4:35 pm Eastern

Exploring Historical and Cultural Settings: Juana Martinez-Neal

1:45 – 2:35 pm Pacific / 4:45 – 5:35 pm Eastern

Exploring Urban and Architectural Settings: Victoria Tentler-Krylov

2:45 – 3:35 pm Pacific / 5:45 – 6:35 pm Eastern

Exploring Imaginative and Enhanced Settings: Victo Ngai

3:45 – 4:30 pm Pacific / 6:45 – 7:30 pm Eastern

Live Q&A Panel with Juana, Victoria, Victo, and moderated by Pat Cummings

4:45 pm – 5:00 pm Pacific / 7:45 pm – 8:00 pm Eastern

Awards and Wrap-up

5:15 pm – 6:15 pm Pacific / 8:15 pm – 9:15 pm Eastern

GenNext Twitter Social

#SCBWIGenNext

@SCBWI