Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

SCBWI Members Honored at ALA Youth Media Awards


The American Library Association’s 2021 Youth Media Awards were awarded to some of the finest writers and artists in children’s and YA literature. Notably, many of those winners and honorees are SCBWI members. From Newbery Medal winner Tae Keller, to Caldecott Medal winner Carole Lindstrom, to all our other talented members who were honored, the organization takes pride in that the rest of the literary world takes note of their work.



John Newbery Medal

Tae Keller

“When You Trap a Tiger”


Randolph Caldecott Medal

Carole Lindstrom

“We Are Water Protectors”


Newbery Honor Books

Cristina Soontornvat

“All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys’ Soccer Team”

Carole Boston Weatherford

“BOX: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom”

Erin Entrada Kelly

Illustrated by Erin Entrada Kelly and Celia Krampien

“We Dream of Space,”

Christina Soontornvat

“A Wish in the Dark”


Caldecott Honor Books

Irene Latham

“The Cat Man of Aleppo”

Cozbi A. Cabrera

“Me & Mama” 

Cindy Derby (illustrator), Deborah Underwood (writer)

“Outside In”


Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award

Jacqueline Woodson

“Before the Ever After” 


Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award

Frank Morrison

“R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul”

Cozbi A. Cabrera

“Exquisite: The Poetry and Life of Gwendolyn Brooks” 

Cozbi A. Cabrera:

“Me & Mama,”


Michael L. Printz Award

Daniel Nayeri 

“Everything Sad Is Untrue (a true story)”


Printz Honor Books

Eric Gansworth:

“Apple (Skin to the Core) 


Schneider Family Book Award

Sydney Smith (illustrator)

“I Talk Like a River”


Schneider Family Honor Award

Annette Bay Pimentel, illustrated by Nabi H. Ali:

“All the Way to the Top: How One Girl’s Fight for Americans with Disabilities Changed Everything”

Tracy Newman 

“Itzhak: A Boy who Loved the Violin”

Sarah Kapit:

“Get a Grip, Vivy Cohen!”

Victoria Jamieson: 

“When Stars Are Scattered” 


Pura Belpré Awards

Raúl Gonzalez (Raul the Third)

“¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat”


Pura Belpré Children’s Author Award

Ernesto Cisneros:

“Efrén Divided”


Belpré Children’s Author Honor Books

Adrianna Cuevas 

“The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez”


Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award

Candace Fleming, and illustrated by Eric Rohmann:

“Honeybee: The Busy Life of Apis Mellifera”


Siebert Honor Books

John Rocco 

“How We Got to the Moon: The People, Technology, and Daring Feats of Science Behind Humanity’s Greatest Adventure” 

Suzanne Slade, illustrated by Cozbi A. Cabrera

“Exquisite: The Poetry and Life of Gwendolyn Brooks” 


Stonewall Book Award Honor

Adib Khorram:

“Darius the Great Deserves Better”


Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

David LaRochelle, illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka

“See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog”


Geisel Honor Books

Maya Tatsukawa

“The Bear in My Family”

Nina Mata (illustrator) 

“Ty’s Travels: Zip, Zoom!”

Anne Hunter: 

“Where’s Baby?”


YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction

Candace Fleming 

“The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh”


Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Winner 

Tae Keller

“When You Trap a Tiger”


Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor

Linda Sue Park 

“Prairie Lotus”


The Sydney Taylor Book Award

Lesléa Newman, illustrated by Susan Gal 

“Welcoming Elijah: A Passover Tale with a Tail

M. Evan Wolkenstein 

“Turtle Boy” 


Sydney Taylor Book Award Silver Medalists

Mychal Copeland, illustrated by André Ceolin

I Am the Tree of Life: My Jewish Yoga Book”

Jane Yolen, illustrated by Khoa Le

Miriam at the River” 

Tziporah Cohen 

“No Vacancy”

Sofiya Pasternack

“Anya and the Nightingale”