SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

SCBWI Announces Golden Kite Winners

 

SCBWI announced the winner and honor book recipients for the annual Golden Kite Awards. The recipients included an inclusive array of debut authors and established writers and illustrators. The winner, or winners, in each category received $2,500 plus an additional $1,000 to donate to a non-profit organization of their choice. Each honor winner received $500 plus an additional $250 to donate.

At the ceremony for the Golden Kite Awards, there was an error in the announcement of the winners in the Nonfiction Text for Older Readers category. This year the judges chose two winners in this category: Ariel Henley’s A Face for Picasso, as announced, and Anton Treuer’s Everything You Wanted To Know About Indians But Were Afraid To Ask. Both books are winners of the Golden Kite Award. No Honor book was selected.

 

Picture Book Text

Winner: Joanna Ho, “Eyes That Kiss In The Corners”, illustrated by Dung Ho, Harper Collins Books for Young Readers

Donation made to First Book (firstbook.org)

Honor: Winsome Bingham, “Soul Food Sunday”, illustrated by C.G. Esperanza, Abrams Books for Young Readers

Donation made to Start Lighthouse (startlighthouse.org)

 

Picture Book Illustration

Winner: Stephen Costanza, “King of Ragtime: The Story of Scott Joplin” Atheneum Books for Young Readers

Donation made to Musical Bridges Around the World (mbaw.org)

Honor: Micha Archer, “Wonder Walkers” Nancy Paulsen Books

Donation made to Barbershop Books (barbershopbooks.org)

 

Middle Grade Fiction

Winner: Rajani LaRocca, “Red, White, and Whole”, Quill Tree Books

Donation made to World Literacy Foundation (worldliteracyfoundation.org)

Honor: Adrianna Cuevas, “Cuba in My Pocket”, Farrar, Straus, Giroux Books for Young Readers

Donation made to Lambda Literary (lambdaliterary.org/lgbtq-writers-in-schools/)

 

Illustrated Book for Older Readers

Winner: Fahmida Azim, “Samira Surfs”, Kokila

Donation made to The Rohingya Children Projects (rohingyachildren.com)

Honor: Eugene Yelchin, “Genius Under the Table”, Candlewick Press

Donation made to The Dream Builders Project (dbpla.org)

 

Nonfiction Text for Younger Readers

Winner: Colleen Paeff: The Great Stink: How Joseph Bazalgette Solved London’s Poop Pollution Problem” illustrated by Nancy Carpenter, Margaret K. McElderry Books

Donation made to Access Books (accessbooks.net)

Honor: Cynthia Levinson, “The People’s Painter: How Ben Shahn Fought For Justice With Art” illustrated by Evan Turk

Donation made to The Highlights Foundation Scholarship Fund (highlightsfoundation.org/scholarships/)

 

Nonfiction Book for Older Readers

Winner: Ariel Henley, “A Face for Picasso: Coming of Age with Crouzon Syndrome”, Farrar, Straus and Giroux Books for Young Readers

Donation made to myFace (myface.org)

Winner: Anton Treuer, “Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians But Were Afraid to Ask”, Levine Querido

Donation made to Minnesota American Indian Bar Association – for Native American Scholarships (maiba.org)

 

Young Adult

Winner: Pamela N. Harris, “When You Look Like Us”, Quill Tree Books

Donation made to Down Syndrome Association of Greater Richmond (dsagr.org)

Honor: Olivia Abtahi, “Perfectly Parvin”, G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Donation made to The Word for Diversity (thewordfordiversity.org)