Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Winners Announced for SCBWI PJ Library Jewish Stories Award

The winner of the SCBWI PJ Library Jewish Stories Award for 2018 is Audrey Ades, author of Judah Touro Didn’t Want to Be Famous, a beautifully written and compelling picture book biography with a worthwhile message. Ades will receive the $2,500 SCBWI PJL JSA prize, along with PJ Library’s Author Incentive Award of $2,000. She also wins free tuition to the New York 2018 Winter conference, where she will be presented with her award.

Joy Nelkin Wieder, author/illustrator of Rivka and the Mice, is an honorable mention for the SCBWI PJ Library Jewish Stories Award for 2018. Rivka and the Mice is a picture book accompanied by accomplished illustrations based on a passage from the Talmud that teaches about Passover preparations with humor and heart. For her excellent work, Wieder will receive the $1,500 SCBWI PJL JSA prize, $2,000 for the PJ Library’s Author Incentive Award, and an award presentation at the 2018 Winter Conference.

The SCBWI PJ Library Jewish Stories Award was created to encourage the creation of more high quality Jewish children’s literature. PJ Library will make every effort to partner with a publisher to have both winning manuscripts published and to carry the books in the PJ Library program.

The judges for the SCBWI PJ Library Jewish Stories Award for 2018, were David Adler, esteemed children’s book author of almost 200 books; Rita Auerbach, a former children’s librarian who chaired the 2010 Caldecott Award Committee and is currently a member of the Bank Street Children’s Book Committee; and Samara Klein, a member of the PJ Library Book Selection Committee and Director of Publishing Projects.

Visit for more information about the PJ Library Award. Submissions for the 2018 award open in September.