Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Winners shine at SCBWI Golden Kite Gala


On February 2 the SCBWI hosted a ceremony at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Manhattan to honor the winners of the 2018 Golden Kite Awards. Winners Elana K. Arnold, Jack Cheng, Carolyn Crimi, Kenard Pak, Carole Boston Weatherford, Deborah Heiligman, and Crystal Allen accepted their awards with touching and inspiring speeches. Chelsea Clinton delivered the opening remarks, speaking on the importance of children’s literature and how her reading experiences as a child informed her later identity as a humanitarian and author.
























Keynote speaker Chelsea Clinton walks the Golden Carpet with SCBWI Executive Director Lin Oliver.


































Young Adult Fiction winner Elana K. Arnold is all smiles accepting the Golden Kite Award for her beautifully written novelĀ What Girls Are Made Of.
































Middle Grade Fiction winner Jack Cheng accepting his award for See You in the Cosmos, a story about a space obsessed boy and his dog taking a journey toward family, love, and hope.
































Carolyn Crimi wins in the category of Picture Book Text for There Might Be Lobsters, a charming story about how fear can hold us back, and how love can save the day.

































Picture Book Illustration winner Kenard Pak delivering a funny and poignant acceptance for his stunning book Goodbye Autumn, Hello Winter.































Carole Boston Weatherford wins the Nonfiction for Younger Readers category for her gorgeous picture book biography Schomburg: The Man Who Built a Library, about the remarkable life of Afro-Puerto Rican scholar Arturo Schomberg.






























Non-Fiction for Older Readers winner Deborah Heiligman at the Golden Kite Gala, giving her speech for Vincent and Theo, a heart-warming story of brotherly love between Vincent and Theo Van Gogh.
































The hilarious Crystal Allen had the room in stitches accepting the Sid Fleischman Award for The Magnificent Mya Tibbs: The Wall of Fame Game.