Ann Whitford Paul Writer’s Digest Manuscript Award

An annual award given to the manuscript of a Most Promising Picture Book manuscript.

Award info

The Ann Whitford Paul – Writer’s Digest Manuscript Award is an annual award given to a Most Promising Picture Book manuscript.

Winners will be selected in two categories: Fiction and Nonfiction. The two winners will each receive a $1000 grant to encourage the development of an excellent picture book manuscript.  Honorable mentions (up to two) in each category will receive $500 each.

Submissions open March 1, 2024 through April 1, 2024. SUBMISSIONS CLOSED.

Submission Guidelines

This award is open to any SCBWI members with picture books who are not under contract and/or have not sold a picture book manuscript in the last five years. Please submit text-only manuscripts – no dummies or published work.

This award is open to fiction and non-fiction manuscripts; one winner will be chosen in each category.

Please include ONE PDF document with the following:

-a cover sheet that has the title of the manuscript and all of your contact information. List whether your manuscript is FICTION or NONFICTION.

-one picture book manuscript (fiction OR nonfiction), which should not exceed 1000 words

-a short paragraph describing which SCBWI features are most beneficial to your career as a picture book creator, and (OPTIONAL) any suggestions you have for upcoming SCBWI activities

We are only accepting electronic submissions. Email your PDF to

Questions? Please email Sarah Diamond at

789 Jerry Bennett 1.jpg

Awards & Grants for Writers

Awarded to middle grade and young adult writers working in the fantasy or science fiction genre.