Mathew de la Pena

PAL Member


Matt de la Peña is the #1 New York Times Bestselling, Newbery Medal-winning author of seven young adult novels (including Mexican WhiteBoy and We Were Here) and six picture books (including Milo Imagines the World and Last Stop on Market Street). In 2016 he was awarded the NCTE Intellectual Freedom Award. Matt received his MFA in creative writing from San Diego State University and his BA from the University of the Pacific where he attended school on a full basketball scholarship. In 2019 Matt was awarded an honorary doctorate from UOP.


The Living

Mexican WhiteBoy

Ball Don't Lie

I Will Save You

A Nation's Hope: the Story of Boxing Legend Joe Louis

We Were Here

Member regions

Explore other members at SCBWI

Caterina Salvatori
Author, Translator
Chrissy Wilson
Maria Marshall
Jeanne Moran
Stacey Woodson